



Lt. Governor Rodriguez recognizes outstanding individuals and organizations for their service at the 2023 Governor's Service Awards

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

DATE: 6/9/23

CONTACT: Kyle Clower, Communications and Government Affairs Officer

PHONE: (608) 576-5373

EMAIL: kyle.clower@wisconsin.gov

Lt. Governor Sara Rodriguez congratulated the honorees at the 2023 Governor's Service Awards, stating that "all of you set an incredible example of what it means to take care of our fellow neighbor and the people in our state." She continued by saying "recognizing the hard work of dedicated volunteers like yourselves will always be a joy for me. Seeing your efforts and the projects and initiatives that you work on reminds me of my own experience in the Peace Corps after college, and that experience in the Peace Corps helped drive my decision to be a public health nurse, and to pursue a career in service."

Highlighting how each of the honorees has made a difference through their own service journeys, Lt. Governor Rodriguez described how "each of you represent a different path and approach to service and are sharing your unique skills, experiences and insights in a way that allow you to have the greatest impact." She then stated "whether you are working with individuals to advance their education goals, ensuring that people in need have access to quality, affordable health care, or being an agent of positive change for local families and communities, each of you is without a doubt, making a real, measurable difference in the lives of the people that you serve, and I thank you for doing that. So much of our local impact rests on the shoulders of dedicated volunteers and organizations like yourselves, and we could not have the reach and influence in this state without partners like all of you."

The Governor's Service Awards honors outstanding Wisconsin volunteers, AmeriCorps members, AmeriCorps Seniors volunteers, and national service organizations that address serious social needs across Wisconsin. The 2023 ceremony recognized sixteen individuals and one organization from throughout the state for their outstanding volunteerism and service and 49 AmeriCorps Seniors volunteers for reaching the milestone of twenty years of volunteer service in their communities. The awards were presented on June 7 and were sponsored by Serve Wisconsin, the state commission for national and community service.

After acknowledging the unwavering dedication and generosity of the honorees, , Lt. Governor Rodriguez thanked them for their service saying "to all of you being recognized as this year's member, alumni, program, or volunteer of the year, thank you for the critical work that you do in communities across our state. To those AmeriCorps seniors being recognized for 20 years of service, thank you for every hour of your time and energy you've given to helping those in need. The total impact of your collective years of service is vast and truly a feat worthy of this recognition. Thank you everyone for your dedicated service to Wisconsin and to the people of this state."

A recording of the ceremony is available at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gvhAc2lwrmE

Service descriptions for each honoree available at

https://www.servewisconsin.wi.gov/s/2023-GSA-Honoree-Service-Descriptions.pdf

Additional information about the Governor's Service Awards, including past winners, can be found at https://www.servewisconsin.wi.gov/governors-service-awards

2023 Governor's Service Awards Honorees

AmeriCorps Member of the Year:

Lyndsey Johnson - College Possible Milwaukee (Milwaukee, WI)

AmeriCorps Member of the Year:

Malysha MacFarland - College Possible Milwaukee (Milwaukee, WI)

AmeriCorps VISTA Member of the Year:

Allison Hrovat - Wisconsin Association of Free and Charitable Clinics (Appleton, WI)

AmeriCorps Alumni of the Year:

Tianna R. Evans - originally served with Teach For America Milwaukee (Milwaukee, WI)

AmeriCorps Seniors Volunteer of the Year:

Linda Longmore - Western Dairyland RSVP (Independence, WI)

AmeriCorps Seniors Volunteer of the Year:

Corrine Rolli - Southwestern Wisconsin Community Action Program - Foster Grandparent Program (Dodgeville, WI)

AmeriCorps Seniors Program of the Year:

Coulee Region RSVP (La Crosse, WI)

Volunteer of the Year - East Central Wisconsin:

Sister Sally Ann Brickner - Catholic Charities of the Diocese of Green Bay (Green Bay)

Volunteer of the Year - East Central Wisconsin:

Joe and Audrey Leisgang - Bellin Health and American Red Cross of Wisconsin - Northeast Chapter (Green Bay)

Volunteer of the Year - Northeast Wisconsin:

Iris Firgens - Great Lakes Inter-Tribal Council - Senior Companion Program (Shawano, WI)

Volunteer of the Year - Northwest Wisconsin:

Debra Newago Proulx - Great Lakes Inter-Tribal Council - Senior Companion Program (Bayfield, WI)

Volunteer of the Year - Southeast Wisconsin:

Maddie Frohmeier - Interfaith Caregivers of Ozaukee County (Fredonia, WI)

Volunteer of the Year - Southeast Wisconsin:

Jake Martin - United Way of Jefferson & North Walworth Counties (Fort Atkinson, WI)

Volunteer of the Year - Southwest Wisconsin:

Cathy Schmale - United Way of Dane County (Oregon, WI)

Volunteer of the Year - West Central Wisconsin:

Valjean J Adams - African American Mutual Assistance Network, Inc. (Onalaska, WI)

Special Recognition:

Margie Zutter - retirement after 46 years leading RSVP of Dane County and supporting its AmeriCorps Seniors volunteers

AmeriCorps Seniors Volunteers with 20 Years of Service

Coulee Region RSVP

Beth Curtis Jean Gabrielson John Hamilton Evelyn Miller

Northwest Wisconsin Community Services Agency RSVP

Jan Carlson Merry Nuutinen

RSVP of Dane County

Debra Baker
Myrna D. Heiser
Mary Ihlenfeldt
Betty Ingwell
Lynn Klink
Alison Koelsch
Mary Odell
Joan Paar
Jean B. Ruhde
Marsha Schaeffer
Gregg Williard
Ann Wolfe

RSVP of Portage County

Bob Brush Janice Doxtator Karen Fadner Darlene Schroda Edward Severson

RSVP of Racine County

Nat Cycenas Barbara Hanke

RSVP of Rock County

Darlene Breden

Volunteer Fox Cities RSVP

Jim Glasheen Lorna Hamilton Betty Lange Jim Mauthe Millie Mauthe

Western Dairyland RSVP

June Bartilson Gena Coach Joyce Cooper Cindy Denk Jacquelyn Erwin **Doris Estenson** Lavonne Ganz **Christine Giese** Verna Gunderson Earl Hetrick Rita Hetrick Sonya Iberg Dorothy Kruschke Janet Michaels Joanne Miles, LaMay Nelson **Ruth Schaffner**

Jeanette Scheuermann